What’s in a name?

*This post is part of Write 31 Days*

I am really into names and their meanings. Like. Really.

When I…er…we…named my our kids, we went Biblical for first names. Nice, solid, hard to make fun of names with meanings that settled well in our souls. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of pitfalls to be had in the Biblical genre. There is a reason people don’t typically name their kids Cain. And no Delilah or Jezebel for my girl because.let’s.be.real. And I think the last time someone was named Judas, he ended up hanging from a tree with his entrails flowing out. Three words: Kiss.of.death.

So, when my blog story was brought up recently, I mentioned that I often pick names for very specific purposes. This seemed to be of interest, so I thought I’d let you in on this, too.

Unlike the naming of my actual kids, I don’t pick according to a certain time period or nationality. I do regular searches on ol’ baby name sites I used to frequent when my stomach was the size of a watermelon, and an unborn child living inside of me rearranged furniture-otherwise known as my organs-on a daily basis.

So far in the story, you have been introduced to our four children’s middle names. I use their middles names to help keep a little anonymity beyond using their first names. On a personal level, their middles names are all after family members. Still, their meanings are awesome and I use the meaning to help develop their character and plot lines within the story.

Edward: English origin – “wealthy guardian” (nameberry.com)

ReAnne: Irish origin – “great and sacred queen” (quickbabynames.com)

Benjamin: Hebrew origin – “Son of the right hand” (nameberry.com)

Dennis (this one’s tricky): “devoted to Bacchus” From the Biblical name Dionysius, Greek in origin and it’s meaning is devoted to Bacchus. Dionysus is the pagan god of wine.
Dionysius was a native of Athens. He was converted to Christianity by the preaching of the apostle Paul. According to tradition, Dionysius was the first bishop of Athens. (biblical-baby-names.com)

You will also find Ottelo, Pitney, Theosi, Lothair, and Dima…among others. Some are variant forms of other names, creative spelling, or relate to me on a personal level.

Please note, there are sometimes many meanings for one name and I do take artistic license for which meaning I pick, but as the story progresses and names get mentioned, you might want to look them up, just in case!

I’ll leave you with one last nugget of information with the name Kaelah. It is English in origin for “keeper of the keys.” Fitting, I think…but only time will tell…

*I also had it asked of me to include a pronunciation page for names…because some can be pronounced more than one way and I’m not looking to start any riffs between mothers and daughters who might be reading together and pronouncing names differently. I promise you…that is a thing.*

4 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. I am really into names too! We have a mix of biblical, family, and even places (Sedona). I was so excited when you mentioned that you would have a pronunciation page! That was the first thing I wondered when I read the cool names you had picked out. Makes me want to write a book so that I can pick out more names.

    1. Pronunciation page is up on the blog today!
      Isn’t it funny how it matters to some and not to others? If I didn’t like the meaning of a name, it was a no-go…middle names were more lenient because of family.
      You should write a book! 😉

  2. It IS a thing! And then when they make a movie and it’s pronounced differently than either of you pronounced it…the world explodes…but then at least there’s peace in the home again!😉

Leave a Reply

